Final Video Project – Course 3

In my blog post Digitally Telling the Story of Learning, I posted a presentation I use with my Digital Photography elective to introduce the idea of telling a story with photos.  Here I present to you my final video that I will use in Trimester 3 when I teach the elective again.

The process of changing this from a Google Presentation to an iMovie was both fun and frustrating.  I have some experience with iMovie but constantly find myself fiddling with that darn Ken Burns and my timings.   I hadn’t played around with the sound effects in a long time.  Usually I just throw in a song from my iTunes (I don’t suppose I should but they make it so easy).  I hadn’t realized I could layer sound effects and so could have the Concrete Jungle sound playing at the same time as  Jungle to get the effect I wanted to tell my story – a combination of city and nature.

If there is one thing I have learned these past few months while playing around with digital storytelling tools in my classroom, it is that most times, the time is worth the result.   However, an equally important lesson has been that this kind of creativity takes a lot of time.  However tech savvy my students may be, quality work takes time

Leave a comment